A little-known American charity dedicated to helping victims of African conflict has scored a public relations coup. Invisible Children’s new 30-minute Kony 2012 video, directed by Jason Russell, has been viewed over 440,000 times since being placed on YouTube on March 5. The film is intended to raise public awareness of the devastating Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) conflict in Uganda… – Invisible Children’s Kony 2012 Video About Uganda Conflict: The Making Of A Viral Masterpiece

The documentary short film above has caught fire through YouTube. It’s trending on Twitter today, as is the cause of Invisible Children.

It’s a masterful short film starring a father and his son. It’s a lesson in activism and knowing about the world beyond our borders. The setting is Central Africa.

Joseph Kony is the leader of the Lord’s Resistance Army, or LRA, a group in Central Africa that is one of the most violent band of murdering thugs on planet earth.

In 2008, he was called “the biggest forgotten and neglected humanitarian emergency in the world”, as reported by the UK Telegraph.

Here’s a report from the Christian Science Monitor from October 2011, when Pres. Obama sent “combat-equipped US forces” to intervene and show solidarity in the mission to stop the human rights violations and slaughter by Joseph Kony and the LRA.

You may recall that Michele Bachmann called it “unnecessary foreign entanglements.”

Rush Limbaugh laughingly opining that the LRA were “Christians,” claiming “Obama Invades Uganda, Targets Christians.” Michael Gerson unpeeled that lie easily.

Invisible Children has also launched what they’re calling a CultureMaker campaign targeting celebrities to encourage them to get involved. Complete with Twitter handles and sample tweets, IC shows you what can be done from the comfort of your safety with your favorite device.

Below, you’ll find the full list of these culturemakers, their Twitter handles, hashtags, or Facebook pages. Contact them, encourage them to get involved!

Oprah “” @oprah
Bill O’reilly “” @oreillyfactor
Rihanna “” @rihanna
Rush Limbaugh “” @rushlimbaugh
Mark Zuckerberg “” Facebook.com/zuck
Justin B Ieber “” @justinbieber
Ben Affleck “” @eastcongonews
Ryan Seacrest “” @ryanseacrest
George Clooney “” #georgeclooney #kony2012
Jay-z “” @s_c_
Tim Tebow “” @timtebow
Ellen Degenres “” @theellenshow
Lady Gaga “” @ladygaga
Bill Gates “” @billgates
Stephen Colbert “” @stephenathome
Taylor Swift “” @taylorswift13
Rick Warren “” @rickwarren
Angelina Jolie “” #angelinajolie #kony2012
Warren Buffett “” @w_buffett
Bono “” @onecampaign

Meanwhile, in Syria, the Bashar al-Assad’s rampage against his own people continues.

But because of new media and activist films that use social media to involve the world, war crimes cannot be done in secret.

Nobody I know has much information on Invisible Children, so I can’t endorse the group itself, though getting rid of Kony and the LRA has already proven to be a cause of Pres. Obama, with everything I’ve read on Kony proving it’s worth the world’s energy.

But if you’re an activist or interested in changing your corner of the world, this is a 21st century boiler plate for how it can be done.